Random Thoughts on My Return

It’s been a bit since I posted. Things have been busy with work and this week I haven’t been feeling well, but even better, I’ve been finding lots of fun stuff to do with my kids and/or Alison. So, while I love my computer (because most of my friends live there), it’s nice to get away from it on occasion. I will still post whenever I’m feeling it, but otherwise, here’s where I’ll try to be:

Otherwise, I thought I’d celebrate the triumphant return of the Popdialectic with a couple of random thoughts I’ve entertained recently.

    Song lyric over heard on my drive a couple days ago: “I get a thousand hugs from ten thousand lightning bugs.” Really? Ten percent is a lower approval rating than Congress. I wouldn’t brag about that.

    They’ve started advertising the movie Jackass 3D. Stunts include jumping a skee-doo off a ramp at the end of a backyard pool, standing in front of a charging herd of cattle, launching a man in a port-a-potty (wearing only a construction helmet for protection) what looks like a hundred feet into the air with a slingshot. I particularly love the disclaimer at the end of the commercial: The stunts in this movie were performed by professionals, so neither you nor your dumb little buddies should attempt anything from this movie.

    I was thinking about walruses. No, I don’t know why – nothing prompted it. But it occurred to me, wouldn’t it be cool if walruses were like tadpoles and their tails fell off as they grew legs? Also, I think it would be cool if scientists discovered that walruses and sabre-tooth tigers had common ancestors. I read somewhere that when sailors told stories about mermaids, they’d actually seen walruses or manatees — what does that say about the comeliness of the girls in port, if a couple months at sea made merchant marines start fantasizing about pachyderms?

    Pizza hut has a new ad campaign to the effect that, “This isn’t just a pizza.” They go on with a series of different characterizations of America’s favorite fatty dough, tomato and cheese concoction (clearly designed to hit every demographic), including: “This is how you guarantee a second date.” Can I be the first to say, I don’t want a second date with anyone that thinks it’s okay for me to take her to Pizza Hut on the first?

    Alison remarked at the Renaissance Festival this past weekend how many women there were wearing wench blouses. We agreed that it seems to be a place where it is finally okay to be way overweight, as long as you show everyone your cleavage (as opposed to amusement parks, where spandex doesn’t solve anything). I was struck while walking around, though, that it’s also one of the only places I’ve ever been where it appears to be totally acceptable to stare straight at every woman’s boobs. RennFest went simultaneously up and down in my estimation.

The response here should win some kind of award for random-osity.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

