Only in New York

I can’t believe it’s been two weeks since I posted. Or that I’m still getting clicks checking for updates. To rememdy the situation, I’ll commit here and now to posting every day for the next ten days. But in a time-tested media tradition, I’ll also resort to something underhanded to win back some of my readers: posting something prurient.

I was in New York this week for the launch of DiscoverReady’s new brand. Day trips to NYC are a grind – I’m up at 4:30 to catch a train up, and I frequently don’t get home until well after midnight. This trip was a whirlwind for the first half of the day, so when I realized that I had a gap in my schedule about 1:30, I bolted for a quick tromp around the South Street Seaport. It was a gorgeous day – about 75 degrees, sunny … and extremely windy. A day like that demands the rare lunch break and a proper NYC street dog.

The streets were thick with tourists, even on a Wednesday. Waiting to cross Whitehall Street, I was standing next to an affectionate couple, and just before the light changed, a particularly strong gust of wind came through. Her miniskirt blew straight up around her torso. She yelped in surprise and clamped her arms to her sides, which only served to keep the garment from dropping back around her thighs. She stood there, shocked and frozen, as everyone on the sidewalk realized that her fashion choices that morning had not included choice of underwear.

I have to admit, the guy she was with has a good head in a crisis. And is something of an opportunist. He calmly looked at her, reached his hand between her legs and laid his hand over her hoohoo. In a conversataional tone of voice, as if he were asking her to stash her camera: “Hon, put that thing away.” She dropped her skirt into place … and everyone walked away like nothing happened.

So, I’ve learned: When things go wrong, don’t call attention to them. Some people get great pleasure out of helping others. New Yorkers and its tourists are dead from the waist down. And most importantly, on a beautiful, windy day, miniskirts and going commando are both great ideas … just not at the same time.

This entry was posted in New York and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Only in New York

  1. pithypants says:

    Um, you said one a day for ten days. Either my math is flawed or you’re not delivering! 🙂

    • popdialectic says:

      Thanks for noticing. 🙂 I had an entry mostly done for Monday, but decided to go out to dinner with a lovely lady friend of mine and didn’t post it. I’ll keep at it!

  2. Shelby says:

    Oops!! Also, the whole gust of wind up the skirt thing happens all the time around here… the worst I ever saw was the skirt tucked into the panty hose walking through Logan Circle. Not a single one of this girls friends told her her ass was hanging out. For shame. Lesson learned? Don’t wear a thong with tights, it might just getcha in trouble.

Leave a Reply

