I Should Be Committed

WordPress provides stats to bloggers, which can be a blessing and curse. It’s fun to watch stats rise after you post, but disappointing to watch a lousy tally of page views for a day. My girlfriend observed that the weekends are particularly bad, probably because people aren’t at work looking for something (anything, for God’s sake!) to distract them from whatever they should be doing.

Personally, I know why my stats drop: I’m not diligent enough at updating. Alison is awesome at it – even on days when she’s tired or pressed for time, she usually finds a few minutes to make a pithy comment or draw on the store of posts she’s banked while in a wordy mood.

I stayed away from blogging for a long time because I thought that if I had time and dicipline to write, I should be working on the novel that teeters precipitously at the top of my bucket list. But although I didn’t put together columns (a.k.a. “blog posts”), I wasn’t working on my fiction, either.

So a couple of months ago I took the plunge and decided to start the Popdialectic, thinking that if I could get into the habit of writing daily, that would have some kind of equivalent effect to doing morning pages.

I still think that it might, but I’m not making the most of my proposed method. Because of that, I’m publicly recommitting myself to post here every day. Some days it may be just a cop-out, a picture that amused me or a quote that made me think, but I will be present every single day. An entry doesn’t have to be a column, I’m realizing. The point is to perservere at it … Voltaire told us that the perfect is the enemy of the good.

An almost-aside, I’ve been interested to look back over what I’ve produced so far. If you know me, you know that I’m not a vindictive person (in fact, I detest getting angry and even raised voices put my hackles up), yet it’s been pointed out to me that the majority of my posts are either aggressive or out-and-out rants. Freudian? I think probably not; my writing style feels energetic and cleansing to me, but reasonable minds may disagree. Nevertheless, I’d like to focus more frequently on what is humorous and/or good in my life and experience.

It’s possible that you, Gentle Reader, may need to assist me in my renewed resolutions. If you enjoy any of what I’ve posted thus far, please subscribe to the RSS feed on the menu at right, and berate me if I go more then a day or two without posting. Similarly, if I’m sounding too angry for a protracted period, my leash may need to be jerked – recent months have been one of the single best periods of my life and I wouldn’t have anyone think otherwise.

It is a pleasure to transmute thoughts to words, and through comments, please let me know if that’s working. Or if it’s not. But leave some feedback so I know I’m not slogging through this whole electronic swamp by myself.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Should Be Committed

  1. pithypants says:

    All right. So where’s today’s entry then, Mr. Smarty Pants!? 🙂

  2. Paul says:

    Writing every day can be a drag. Leave yourself just a little wiggle room.

  3. mom says:

    “Rant” has become an overused word, don’t you think? It is fast acquiring a negative connotation applied to any verbalization of several paragraphs or more in which the writer or speaker has a strong interest and a point to make. I can’t understand why, unless the speaker is trying to persuade using force (i.e. “I can shout louder than you can”) rather than logic and/or facts and specific observations to support the point. Without a theme and well-organized arguments, blog entries can be boring, and your humor keeps them well leavened.

  4. Hey! Glad I found your blog…. and you will have a reader in me!

  5. Tommy says:

    I’ll read yours if you read mine?

  6. Karen says:

    My fortune today was “It’s better to do something imperfectly than think about doing something perfectly.” Confucius or Voltaire? Either way, I’m going to take the advice myself . Best of luck Alan; I’ll be reading. (You could also boost your numbers by doing what Alison has going on which is including links to timewasters like lamebook and Passive Aggressive Notes so I visit your site not just to see what new things you have going on but to find further escapes.)

    • popdialectic says:

      Thanks, Karen – I’m not sure who that was, although it sounds suspiciously like a few of our Madison professors. I’ve tried to put up a couple diversions on the other pages of the site, but I’m trying not to make the site look too much like you-know-who’s (we surf a lot of the same time-wasters). Glad to have you dropping in!

  7. Babs says:

    Alison and others are right that readers drop off during the weekends because mostly, they’re away from their computers and are out living their lives. In the beginning of the year, I did the same: writing seven days a week. Then I noticed that some of my best posts, from the weekends, were barely being seen. Plus it’s nice to give yourself a few days off each week, or stock up on post ideas. All I’m saying is give yourself a break if you take a day off every now and then!

Leave a Reply

