Do Your Job

I’m a lot of things, but one of those is things is not a hypocrite.  As difficult as the admission is, I know that not everyone is good at everything, myself included.  That said, let’s agree that we should all know our limitations and refrain from jobs that are beyond us.  When you tackle things you aren’t prepared or able to finish, the costs mount far beyond any benefits you think you’re bringing to the table.

Truthfully, there are two elements to this rant.  The first, and worst, goes with the old adage that if something is worth doing, it’s worth doing right.  Please please please — don’t tackle a job for me if you aren’t prepared to listen to the instructions and do it properly.  I wouldn’t do that to you.

Yes, this is a passive-aggressive Work bitch.  If I take the time to work out everything that has to be done and it’s one of the few tasks that is beyond me, whether because I don’t have the skills or because our technical services bosses have not granted me the permissions on the tools I need, don’t refuse to read the instructions and then gripe when I make you re-do it correctly.  I’m no happier about the extra time it takes to make the goal than you are.  The way you’re approaching things is costing me (in quality control time and face with the client), as well as you.  It’s not fun to make you go back and follow the directions I originally gave you.  Pay attention to the parameters and we’ll all hit happy hour earlier.

The second element is just lack of skill.  In the last little bit, I’ve had fixtures fall out of my bathroom wall and a cabinet collapse in my kitchen.  Both are clearly the results of shoddy workmanship in upgrades to my condo before I moved in.  Cut-rate contractors to sell the place?  I call bullshit.  If you don’t know how to hang a towel rack … DON’T.  I spent the evening a couple of day ago re-caulking my tub because the previous job was botched spectacularly.  I’m not sure I did a journeyman job, but it was vastly superior to what was there before (and that’s saying something).

In this life, we have to sell ourselves in a variety of ways.  Sometimes that means holding ourselves out as able to do things that we *think* we’re able to do because that’s how we have the opportunity to prove ourselves.  But do me a favor: please believe, with solid basis, that you can do what you say you can do, before you undertake to do it.  And when you take on the job, pay a little attention to what actually has to happen.  End of the day, no one relaxes on the porch with their Miller High Life gazing with pride on half-assed workmanship.

This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

