Reporting: FAIL

A friend posted a link earlier today that points to yet another way the District of Columbia government is FUBAR.  Aside from the taxes, the only reason I didn’t moved into the city years ago is my fear of the way that the government is run, and the total lack of reliable city services.  My mother taught me that if I can’t say anything nice, I shouldn’t say anything at all, so … Alison is a big fan of the free pools available to residents.  That’s about all I have to say about that.

The link I was reading was to an article in the City Paper about the complications that go along with reporting a rape, and the ways that a college student was stymied in trying to get treatment and an investigation.  If you’re curious, the article is here:

http://www.washingtoncitypaper.com/articles/38671/test-case-youre-not-a-rape-victim-unless-police-say/full

I was already in a bad mood reading about the shoddy state of investigative capabilities into sexual assault – which I think is one of the more grevious crimes committed against women (or anyone) – I was struck by the equally amateurish decision by the City Paper not to screen which advertisements hit which are inserted into their articles … I can understand that you automate things, but is this really appropriate?

Here’s a hint: next time you want to decry the problem of date rape, don’t advertise beer in the middle of the article.

This entry was posted in Fail and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reporting: FAIL

  1. pithypants says:

    Wait… are you postulating that there’s a correlation between beer and date rape?

    Oh, and the pools are EXCEPTIONAL. Worth every dime.

Leave a Reply

